Return to Headlines

Announcing the 2020-21 Superintendent Council Members

Jefferson Parish Schools (JP Schools) announces the 87 community members, including students, parents, teachers and principals who will form the 2020-21 Superintendent’s Councils

“Congratulations to all of the members selected for this year’s Superintendent’s Councils. These Councils are important because they help inform our decisions, especially those impacting students, and provide a continuous connection point to engage the community in two-way communication,” said Dr. James Gray, Superintendent for JP Schools. “I look forward to meeting everyone and discussing how we can continue to provide the best possible learning experience for our students in Jefferson Parish Schools.”

JP Schools held an application period in October for the five Superintendent’s Councils: the Superintendent’s Student Leadership Council, Parent Council, Teacher Council  Principal Council, and Special Education Council. 

The councils will meet four times during the 2020-2021 school year to discuss topics deemed important by the Council members while helping inform and improve decisions being made at the district level. Partnering with families, community members, board members, agencies, and other stakeholders is one of the six priorities outlined in the district’s strategic plan, 2024: The Future Our Kids Deserve. Through these councils, the district helps ensure people’s voices are heard and utilized. 

The members of the 2020-21 Superintendent’s Councils are:

Superintendent’s Student Leadership Council (22 members)

  • Bonnabel High: Malcom D'Ronze and Skye Gandy
  • East Jefferson High: Caleb Goetz and Lyra Adams
  • Ehret High: Alysia Treece
  • Fisher Middle-High: Morgan Delatte and Kelsey Loerwald
  • Grace King High: Keionna Herrera and Nor Gorry
  • Haynes Academy for Advanced Studies: Faiza Filali and Mahir Rahman
  • Helen Cox High: Alina Richardson
  • L.W. Higgins High: Amari Jones and Juliette LeBoeuf
  • Riverdale High: Maida Shahid and Vivian Santillo
  • Patrick F. Taylor Science & Technology Academy: Kelly Parker and Balseba Tewelde
  • Thomas Jefferson Academy for Advanced Studies: Kaitlyn Shelton and Raine Flatau
  • West Jefferson High: Ravyn Hughes and Ashleigh Laws

Superintendent’s Parent Council (18 members)

  • Auranyd Alvarado, Chateau Estates Elementary 
  • Shelia Banks, Gretna No. 2 Academy for Advanced Studies
  • Stefani Becker, Chateau Estates Elementary
  • Stacie Bischof, Bridgedale Elementary
  • Shandricka Brown, Harold Keller Elementary
  • Roland Bullard, Riverdale High
  • Kodi Craft, Patrick F. Taylor Science &Technology Academy
  • Carla Davison, Helen Cox High
  • Audra Detillier, Metairie Academy for Advanced Studies
  • Victoria Duhon, C.T. Janet Elementary
  • Keila Joseph-Alexander, Adams Middle 
  • America Lenox, Butler Elementary
  • Edward Leonard, Dolhonde Elementary
  • Melissa Meza,  Ehret High & Ellender Elementary
  • Birdell Mitchell, B.A. St. Ville Elementary
  • Desma Perkins, East Jefferson High 
  • Maya Valdes-Corley, Harahan Elementary
  • Sabrina Waters, Benson Elementary & Bonnabel High

Superintendent’s Teacher Council (21 members)

  • Stephanie Durant, Chateau Estates Elementary
  • Raynetta Frazier, Cuillier Career Center
  • Lyndsey Jackson, Ellender Elementary
  • Chiquita Jones, Marrero Middle
  • Moya McNulty, T.H. Harris Middle
  • Vivian Miller, Grace King High 
  • Brittany Orr, Patrick F. Taylor Science & Technology Academy
  • Esther Perez-Zemmels, Tom Benson Elementary
  • Emily Poche, Riviere Elementary
  • Tara Reese, Truman Elementary
  • Miriam Rosa Gomez, J.C. Ellis Elementary
  • Gavin Rudolph, Young Audiences Charter School
  • Joshua Russell, Thomas Jefferson Advanced Study Academy
  • Kimberly Rutherford , Paul J. Solis Elementary
  • Watiki Sauerwin, Mildred Harris Elementary
  • Rosalyn Spencer, Gretna Middle 
  • My-Hue Tran, B.A. St. Ville Elementary
  • Christopher Trubiani , Greenlawn Terrace Elementary
  • Karl Williams, East Jefferson High
  • Emma Wilson, Adams Middle 
  • Jennifer Wilson, Ehret High

Superintendent’s Principal Council (14 members)

  • Jason Beber, Adams Middle
  • Michelle Cojoe, Worley Middle
  • Debbie Dantin, Birney Elementary
  • Scott Deemer, Matas Elementary
  • Donna Donahoe, Cuillier Career Center
  • Duane Foret, Gretna Middle
  • Angelia Grabert, Pittman Elementary
  • Holly Manson, Riviere Elementary
  • Christopher Mays, Young Audiences Charter School
  • Melanie Moore, Helen Cox High
  • Karla Russo, Haynes Advanced Academy for Advanced Studies
  • Stephanie Scott, Harahan Elementary
  • Kathleen Sullivan, Jefferson Rise
  • Cecily White, Woodmere Elementary

Superintendent’s Special Education Council (12 members)

  • Jennifer Chastant
  • Urania Chong
  • Windy Hassan
  • Della Hunter
  • Mary Jacob
  • Kaye Morrison
  • Laura Nata
  • Michele O'Steen
  • Rana Ottallah
  • Tara Rosenkranz
  • Phyllis Tassin-Rogers
  • Anayansi Torres