Return to Headlines

JP Schools Announces 2023 Teacher of the Year Winners

Jefferson Parish Schools (JP Schools) named its district winners for the Louisiana Department of Education’s Teachers of the Year program. These individuals are now eligible to compete at the state-level to become the 2023 Louisiana Teacher of the Year.

This year’s honorees for JP Schools Teacher of the Year include: Lauren Landry, Joseph C. Moscona School; Mevlida Turkes-Habibovic, Tom Benson School; and ar Imari Red-Bingley, West Jefferson High School.

In partnership with the Louisiana Association of Principals and Dream Teachers, the Louisiana Department of Education annually honors the state’s most exceptional educators through the Teacher of the Year program. The award recognizes those teachers whose work has made a significant impact on their school community.