Return to Headlines

Thirty-Two JP Schools Students Named National Merit Semifinalists

Thirty-two students in Jefferson Parish Schools have been named semifinalists in the 2022 National Merit Scholarship Program.

Among Louisiana public schools, Haynes Academy for Advanced Studies was top in the state with 20 students named semifinalists this year. Additionally, Patrick F. Taylor Academy for Advanced Studies had the fifth highest number of students awarded in the state with 12 semifinalists.

“I am proud of our students for not only receiving this distinguished academic award, but setting a strong precedent for their collegiate career. This academic achievement will serve as a framework for success in their future endeavors,” said JP Schools Superintendent Dr. James Gray.

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation announced approximately 16,000 Semifinalists in the 67th annual National Merit Scholarship Program. These high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,500 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $30 million offered next spring.

The National Merit Scholarship Program is an academic scholarship competition for highschool students that began in 1955. To be deemed eligible, students must meet program entry and participation requirements, of which include, taking the preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test in order to qualify for that year’s entry into the competition, and must be planning to accept admission to college no later than the fall after completing highschool. This prominent scholarship aims to recognize and honor the academic achievements of students across the U.S. and its recipients should be proud.

The 2022 National Merit Semifinalists in JP Schools are:

Haynes Academy For Advanced Studies

  • Chloe Acoin
  • Haroon Adeel
  • Zoe Anderson
  • Oneeb A. Chaudhry
  • Marie Coffey
  • Kenan Erol
  • Anna He
  • Robayet M. Hossain
  • Sania Islam
  • Isabel J. Lopez
  • Katherine Malbrough
  • Angela Malespin
  • Gayoon Nam
  • Harshita Pattam
  • Benjamin Pethe
  • Mahir A. Rahman
  • Rakshitha Rajasekaran
  • Caleb Savoie
  • Thomas Waelde
  • Vivien Wang

Patrick F. Taylor Science and Technology Academy

  • Samuel T. Ghivizzani
  • Mason J. Howard
  • Allie L. Johnson
  • Ava Johnson
  • Faith U. Kelley
  • Christina Li
  • Amber Lien
  • Todd M. Lillie
  • Jordan A. Pembo
  • Aiyana E. Ringo
  • Ryan T. Rojas
  • Chase E. Stephens