Return to Headlines

Thirty JP Schools Students Named National Merit Finalists

Thirty students in Jefferson Parish Schools have been named Finalists in the 2022 National Merit Scholarship Program.

Nineteen students from Haynes Academy and 11 from Patrick F. Taylor Academy earned the honor.

In September, the National Merit Scholarship Corporation announced approximately 16,000 Semifinalists in the 67th annual National Merit Scholarship Program. Thirty-two JP Schools students were named Semifinalists. The Finalists are now eligible for some 7,500 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $30 million offered in the spring.

The National Merit Scholarship Program is an academic scholarship competition for high school students that began in 1955. To be deemed eligible, students must meet program entry and participation requirements, which include taking the preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test in order to qualify for that year’s entry into the competition, and must be planning to accept admission to college no later than the fall after completing high school. This prominent scholarship aims to recognize and honor the academic achievements of students across the U.S. and its recipients should be proud.

The 2022 National Merit Semifinalists in JP Schools are:

Haynes Academy

  • Haroon Adeel
  • Zoe Anderson
  • Chloe Aucoin
  • Oneeb Chaudhry
  • Marie Coffey
  • Kenan Erol
  • Anna He
  • Robayet Hossain
  • Sania Islam
  • Isabel Lopez
  • Angela Malespin
  • Gayoon Nam
  • Harshita Pattam
  • Benjamin Pethe
  • Mahir Rahman
  • Rakshitha Rajasekaran
  • Caleb Savoie
  • Thomas Waelde
  • Vivien Wang 

Patrick F. Taylor Science and Technology Academy

  • Samuel Ghivizzani
  • Mason Howard
  • Allie Johnson
  • Ava Johnson  
  • Faith Kelley
  • Christina Li
  • Amber Lien
  • Jordan Pembo
  • Aiyana Ringo
  • Ryan Rojas
  • Chase Stephens