Compulsory School Attendance/Compulsory Ages/Duty of Parent-Legal Guardian/Consent to Withdraw
In compliance with the Louisiana Revised Statute 17:221, the policy of the Jefferson Parish Public School System requires that every parent/legal guardian residing within Jefferson Parish, having control or charge of any child from that child’s seventh (7) birthday until his/her eighteenth (18) birthday, shall send such child to a public or private day school, or have him/her enrolled in an approved home study program, unless the child graduates from high school prior to his/her eighteenth (18) birthday. Any child below the age of seven (7) who legally enrolls in school shall also be subject to compulsory attendance provisions. Every parent/legal guardian responsible for sending a child to a public or private day school under provisions of this section shall also assure the attendance of such child in regularly assigned classes during regular school hours established by the School Board.
Marriage of minors under the age of eighteen (18) years results in their emancipation; hence there is no person in charge or control of them and no method or procedure by which their attendance in school can be compelled.
Types of Absences
- Exempted and Excused: The student is allowed to make up missed work and the absence is not counted against attendance requirements. Examples are extended illness documented by a doctor or to celebrate religious holidays.
- Non-Exempted and Excused: The student is allowed to make up missed work but the absence is counted against the attendance requirement.
- Unexcused: The student is not allowed to miss work and the absence is counted against the attendance requirement. An example is skipping school.
- Out of school suspensions: The student is allowed to make up missed work but the absence is counted against the attendance requirement.
Attendance Requirements to Receive Carnegie Credit and Eligibility for Promotion
According to the policy of the state of Louisiana, students must attend elementary or middle school for a total of 60,120 minutes to be eligible for promotion. Based on a standard 360 minute instructional day, a student can miss no more than 14 days of school to be eligible for promotion.
High School Students:
In order to receive grades for a semester/year, high school students must be in attendance for a minimum of 30,060 minutes in a semester or 60,120 minutes in a year for schools not operating on a semester system.
Based on a standard 360 minute instructional day, this means that students in a high school on a semester system can miss no more than 7 days in the 90-day first semester and 7 days in the 93-day second semester. Students in schools not on a semester system can miss no more than 14 days to be eligible for promotion Carnegie units based on minutes.
Attendance Requirements - Carnegie Credit
In addition to meeting overall attendance requirements, middle and high school students must also meet certain attendance requirements to receive Carnegie Credit for individual classes.
In order to earn one Carnegie Credit, students must be in attendance in a specific course for 7,515 minutes. The length of periods and courses varies by school, but as an illustration, if a school is on a 4X4 block schedule and has courses that are 90 minutes long, a student must attend at least 84 classes (7,515 divided by 90). If there were 89 course meetings, the student could miss a maximum of 7 course meetings (89-84) and still receive credit. For middle school students to earn Carnegie Credits, the same standards apply. Because schools in Jefferson Parish operate on different course calendars, students and parents are advised to check with their principal if they are concerned about the impact of absences on the ability to earn Carnegie Credit.