• Superintendent's Student Leadership Council

    The Superintendent’s Student Leadership Council (SLC) is a leadership program and a forum for direct communication between Jefferson Parish School (JPS) students and Superintendent Dr. James Gray. As SLC members, students will share their voices on a variety of topics, work to create solutions for select issues that are important to students and JPS, and increase their leadership skills.

    Benefits to Students

    • Have a direct role in improving the district for all students
    • Gain important leadership, public speaking, decision-making, and team building skills
    • Access a network of mentors through exposure to JPS district and community leaders


    2021-2022 Student Leadership Council Members

    Congratulations to the 28 members of our Superintendent's Student Leadership Council.

    • Eliaz Alexander, Patrick F. Taylor Academy
    • Kent Cambri, Fisher Middle-High
    • Shirley Castillo, Grace King High
    • Akyra Charles, Helen Cox High
    • Faiza Filali, Haynes Academy
    • Raine Flatau, Thomas Jefferson Academy
    • Silvia Garcia, Riverdale High
    • Adam Ghazzali, Riverdale High
    • Bradlee Gross, Thomas Jefferson Academy
    • Keionna Herrera, Grace King High
    • Robayet Hossain, Haynes Academy
    • Sania Islam, Haynes Academy
    • Allie Johnson , Patrick F. Taylor Academy
    • Bryance Joseph, Helen Cox High
    • Andy Le, East Jefferson High
    • Kelsey Loerwald, Fisher Middle-High
    • Luis Martinez, Riverdale High
    • Tesiya McClary, Thomas Jefferson Academy
    • Sophia Parigi, Thomas Jefferson Academy
    • Ma'Kayla Parker, East Jefferson High
    • Baylee Plaisance, Fisher Middle-High
    • Mahir Rahman, Haynes Academy
    • Alina Richardson, Helen Cox High
    • KaShawn Smith, Grace King High
    • Balseba Tewelde, Patrick F. Taylor Academy
    • Sefanit Tewelde, Patrick F. Taylor Academy
    • Alysia Treece, John Ehret High
    • Shirdariyon Williams, West Jefferson High


    2021-2022 Student Leadership Council Meeting Dates

    Student discussions and input are highly valued and member attendance at all council meetings is encouraged. Due to Hurricane Ida, the council will meet three times this school year (instead of four) with the Superintendent at various sites from 9:30 a.m. to noon. Transportation will be provided. All meeting attendees will adhere to the health and safety protocols outlined in our Start Strong Jefferson plan.

    • December 15, 2021 at Grace King High School Library in Metairie 
    • February 9, 2022 at the JP Schools Administration Building located at 501 Manhattan Blvd. in Harvey 
    • April 4, 2022 at the Paul Emenes Building located at 822 S. Clearview Parkway in Harahan 
  • 2020-21 Student Leadership Council Members

  • Lyra Adams

    Lyra Adams
    East Jefferson High

    Faiza Filali.jpg

    Faiza Filali
    Haynes Academy

    Caleb Goetz.jpg

    Caleb Goetz
    East Jefferson High

    Ravyn Hughes

    Ravyn Hughes
    West Jefferson High

    Juliette LeBoeuf.jpg

    Juliette LeBoeuf
    L.W. Higgins High

    Mahir Rahman.jpg

    Mahir Rahman
    Haynes Academy

    Maida Shahid.jpg

    Maida Shahid
    Riverdale High

    Alysia Treece.jpg

    Alysia Treece
    John Ehret High 

  • Morgan Dallatte

     Morgan Dallatte
    Fisher Middle-High

    Raine Flatau.jpg

    Raine Flatau
    Thomas Jefferson Academy

    Nor Gorry

    Nor Gorry
    Grace King High

    Amari Jones.jpg

    Amari Jones
    L.W. Higgins High

    Kelsey Loerwald.jpg

    Kelsey Loerwald
    Fisher Middle-High

    Alina Richardson

    Alina Richardson
    Helen Cox High

    Kaitlyn Shelton.jpg

    Kaitlyn Shelton
    Thomas Jefferson Academy

  • Malcom D'Ronze

    Malcom D'Ronze
    Bonnabel High

    Skye Gandy.jpg

    Skye Gandy
    Bonnabel High

    Keionna Herrera.jpg

    Keionna Herrera
    Grace King High

    Ashleigh Laws.jpg

    Ashleigh Laws
    West Jefferson High


    Kelly Parker
    Patrick Taylor Academy

    Vivian Santillo.jpg

    Vivian Santillo
    Riverdale High

    Balseba Tewelde.jpg

    Balseba Tewelde
    Patrick F. Taylor Academy

Past Superintendent's Student Leadership Councils

  • 2021-22 Student Leadership Council

  • 2020-21 Student Leadership Council

  • 2019-2020 Student Leadership Council

  • 2018-2019 Student Leadership Council