• Jefferson Parish Schools Driver's Education Program

     

     
    The next JPS Driver's Education session will be the Fall Session: September 23-October 4, 2024 from 5:00 PM until 5:00 PM.  Westbank Location Only, no classes will be offered at the Eastbank Location.
     
    The Cost of the Jefferson Parish Schools' 38-Hour Driving Course,
    Which Includes 30 Hours of In-person Learning and 8 Hours of
    Behind-the-wheel instruction is $470.00 plus applicable fees.
     
     
    Classroom instructions for the 2024 Fall Session will be held in person. 
    Classes will NOT be offered at the Eastbank, Bonnabel High School location for the Fall Session.  
    The Westbank classes are held at John Ehret High School.  
    The 8 hours of Behind the Wheel Training will begin after the student passes classroom instruction.  The classroom instructor will contact the student to schedule the driving times.  Please note that per Louisiana law, all students will complete the 8 hours of behind-the-wheel training within 120 days of the completion of the class. A parent or legal guardian must be available to sign the Certificate of Completion at the end of the student's last day of the 8-hour behind-the-wheel training, as required by the State of Louisiana.
     
    Driver's Education Classes are offered four times per year.  The schedule is based on the current approved academic calendar and is subject to change.
     
    *Jefferson Parish Schools holds all Driver's Education Registration online.
     
    Registration:
    The Registration Link will be posted on the Jefferson Parish Schools website beginning at 8:00 AM on the dates listed below:
     
    Fall Session:  August 12-18, 2024, or until all seats are sold
    Winter Session:  November 11-17, 2024, or until all seats are sold
    Spring Session:  February 3-9, 2025, or until all seats are sold
    Summer Session:  May 9-11, 2025, or until all seats are sold
     
    Classes
    Westbank classes are held at John Ehret High School, 4300 Patriot Street, Marrero
    Eastbank classes are held at Bonnabel High School, 2801 Bruin Drive, Kenner
     
    Fall Session: September 23-October 4, 2024, 5:00 PM until 8:00 PM
     
    Winter Session: December 2-13, 2024, 5:00 PM until 8:00 PM
     
    Spring Session: March 10-21, 2025, 5:00 PM until 8:00 PM
     
    Summer Session: June 2-13, 2025, 3:00 PM until 6:00 PM
     
     
    To register:
    1. Parents must review the attached presentation.
     
    2. Complete the online Registration Form.   Please follow ALL the directions listed on the registration form.
     
    3. Once the Office of Community Programs has received the completed Registration Form and a copy of the Temporary Instructional Permit, an email will be sent to the email address entered on the registration form with the payment link to complete the payment online. 
     
    4. The Temporary Instructional Permit (TIP Card) from the DMV is required for registration.  Parents can make an appointment with the DMV by going to www.expresslane.org, and then selecting "Book Appointment" to obtain a Permit.  
     
    If additional information is needed, please call (504)365-5368.
     

    **THE DRIVER'S EDUCATION FEE DOES NOT INCLUDE THE $40 FEE FOR THIRD THIRD-PARTY ROAD TEST REQUIRED BY THE OMV TO OBTAIN A FULL DRIVER'S LICENSE**

    Registration typically begins approximately one month before the actual session dates.  Please visit the Driver's Education page on the JP Schools website (JPSchools.org, Departments, Finance, Driver's Education) for more information.  If you have questions regarding the program, please contact Anne Early at 504-365-5368 (Anne.Early@jpschools.org).

Contact

What We Do

  • Driving instruction is offered to high school students 15 years old to 17 years old and at least in the 8th grade. This is a state-approved course. Students can receive a 1/2-unit credit for taking the course, which is offered 4 times yearly.

    The 38-hour driver’s education course includes 30 hours of classroom instruction.  Students must attend all 30 hours of the in-person classes. The course also includes 8 hours of student driving. Enrollment is limited each session.

    All current Jefferson Parish Schools employees will receive a 10% discount for their son/daughter to attend the Driver’s Ed. 

    To register for Driver’s Education classes, all students must have:

    • Louisiana Temporary Instruction Permit
    • 17 or under – Parent or Guardian

    Effective September 4, 2018, the State of Louisiana Department of Motor Vehicles is requiring all students to get a Temporary Instruction Permit (TIP).

    TO OBTAIN THE TIP: Students need to go to the Office of Motor Vehicles web page expresslane.org and select Book Appointment.

    Requirements for Minor Students (15 – 17 years old)

    • Original or State Certified Birth Certificate (no photocopies)
    • Social Security Card
    • Legal Custodial/Domiciliary Parent/Guardian with their Driver’s License or State ID Card
      • Original or Court Certified Custody Papers (if there are any)

    Requirements for Adult Students (18 years or older)

    • Original or State Certified Birth Certificate (no photocopies)
    • Social Security Card
    • Proof of residence (Two proof of residence if applying for a Real ID)

    *Note: If an adult has a valid Louisiana State ID already issued and their Social Security Number is in the OMV’s system, then only the ID and Proof of Residency is needed.

    COST OF THE TEMPORARY INSTRUCTION PERMIT AT THE OFFICE OF MOTOR VEHICLES:
    The Temporary Instruction Permit is $32.25 with a possible service fee of up to $6.00. 
    Forms of payment are Cash, Credit/Debit Card, Money Order, and Check (check number must be over 1500 to be accepted). Convenience fees may apply for Credit/Debit Cards and check transactions. Please go to www.expresslane.org to book an appointment to get a TIP card.

    *Effective 8/1/2020 the Student Enrollment Form is no longer required* 

If you are having trouble viewing the document, you may download the document.